The Serpent King to Empress of the World: 5 YA Booktalks

Right now I am finishing up my last class at SJSU’s iSchool. This class is all about giving booktalks and making book trailers. The goal is to get / keep people reading. I can stand behind that.

This booktalk video contains talks on 5 young adult books, all of which I recommend whole heartedly. The first rule of booktalking is to never talk about a book you don’t personally like, so all of the books on this list are ones I truly enjoyed. Just go ahead and read them. You don’t even need to watch the talks.

If you do watch the video, here are the books you will hear about:

  1. The Serpent King by Jeff Zetner
  2. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
  3. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
  4. I Am the Cheese by Richard Cormier
  5. Empress of the World by Sara Ryan

For a transcript of my 5 YA booktalks, click HERE.

NOTE: In this class students are required to write some of their own booktalks AND also to adapt pre-existing ones. For that reason, two of the booktalks (I Am the Cheese and Everything Everything) are adapted from other sources. Click the links to read the original versions. That said, I really did read the books and I really do recommend them.

Leave a Reply

